Sunday Session: Disney Baking

You may remember that I’ve been baking my way through the Disney Cakes and Sweets Magazine series that I got years ago but had never tried any of the recipes before. This week I pulled out issue #4 which featured a piglet bake on the front.

The piglet mould had come with this issue and I had never used the mould before so it made sense to give it a crack! This bake gave two options (plus a hidden third) for piglet a blancmage or a sponge. I’m not very comfortable when it comes to decorating or trying form like creations so I decided to try the sponge recipe.

What you’ll need to try this recipe (2020)

It was actually really simple and only called for butter, sugar, self raising flour and eggs all which basically got thrown in the bowl together and beaten.

The recipe stated that vanilla extract should be used but the weekend before we went fruit picking and had more oranges than I cared to count at home! As such I decided to use some of the oranges instead of vanilla to make an orange flavour. I did also added some red food colouring but I think the orange may have reacted with this as the final bake wasn’t as red/pink as I expected.

I had extra batter so made a few cupcakes and tried my Winnie the Pooh mould. This was a partial success. Piglet had a few facial issues when I took Piglet from the mould but the taste was pretty good so it was a partial win.

After I completed this bake I noticed there was a suggestion at the bottom of the page to try making a jelly in the mould instead…I have a partner who LOVES jelly so I had to give this a go! It actually worked! I used raspberry jelly so got a great pink colour but it seemed I’d break the jelly if I removed it from the mould. Thinking quick after I broke Piglet’s ear I put it in the freezer and just a few hours later out came an almost perfect piglet! I’m pretty stoked with this effort and wish I had tried it before the sponge. Just goes to show why you should always read everything in the magazine!

Even Piglet is looking at my jelly with admiration! (2020)

Bonus Bake!

Before I finish this week’s Sunday Session I have a bonus bake for you! Also in Issue 4 of this magazine series was “Mater’s Really Rocky Road“. I have made rocky road many times before but never like this so I gave it a go and despite it not looking exactly like the picture it tasted amazing!

What you need for the Rocky Road recipe (2020)

This recipe called for a biscuit like base which is not something I usually do for rocky road.

Rather than use the stove (which is what the recipe called for) all I did was melt some butter, crumble chocolate biscuits into the butter and add some cocoa powder. I also added golden syrup to this mixture. After mixing this well I then poured this into the base of my mould.

All that had to happen next was to cut up some jelly pieces (I had red frogs in my pantry) and marshmallow. I also melted chocolate which I poured over the top. I used two different types of chocolate that added to the final taste.

It then went into the fridge for a few hours. About an hour before serving it I popped it into the freezer which helped to make it firm enough to cut without loosing too much of the structural integrity. After I cut it up I kept it in the fridge and it maintained its shape which I was a little unsure that it would so that was a win!

My Rocky Road tasted amazing! (2020)

It may not look just like the picture in the magazine but it tasted great!

This recipe was a winner so I’ll be using it again for sure!

Leave a comment